ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Round 2 - Otago v Waitakere

Squad List

Otago ready for Forsyth Barr bow

By Rab Smith/ 

DUNEDIN - The new Forsyth Barr stadium provides a stunning backdrop as  Waitakere United travel south to face Otago United in the ASB Premiership on Sunday.

Otago chairman Dave Lamont sees venue's superb surface as the way forward for football in the deep south with the playing area large and suitable for an open and expansive game.

Increased costs Ė many times more than the Caledonian ground Ė will keep club manager Barry Van Gorp nervous as he counts the paying customers.

Lamont said, "Clearly itís a gamble, since like most ASB premiership clubs, expenditure is a very important factor, and we need a decent crowd to balance the books."

The Forsyth Barr Stadium initially required 60 security personnel and a plumber and electrician in attendance, but while that  has been scaled down, the venue does have a few fish hooks built in.

"The real equation is whether we can increase football support and produce a crowd that will increase over time, and become our 12th man, to urge the team onwards," said Lamont.

Yet the chairman and coach Richard Murray are wary of providing a perfect playing surface to an in form Waitakere that recently whipped AS Tefana 10-0 in the OFC Champions League.

Murray also has worries over a squad that has niggling injuries, as well as being without Scots defender Craig Ferguson who was red carded in the last drawn match with Team Wellington.

"We are likely to wait until just before the match before we can finalise our squad," said Murray. "Its mostly strains and bruises which we hope will clear up by the weekend."

A bonus for Otago has been the fine form of keeper Peter Evans, who like many custodians seems to get better as he gets older.

The big keeper said, "I wasnít going to play this season, then changed my mind, and I am really enjoying the involvement and training, so I hope it continues."

Evans might just see some action facing up to a Waitakere attack that is obviously in high gear at the moment.

Waitakere coach Neil Emblen said, "My team are looking forward to playing at the new stadium and are hoping to keep our momentum going after 2 good wins."

"Otago had a good start against Wellington and regardless of what stadium we play at in Dunedin we have never had an easy game down there."

"Some good talent has been recruited in the off season and there seems like a good feeling in there camp so we will have to play well to come away with the points."

"I do feel though that if we can sustain our form we will be hard to stop. Iím also looking forward to meeting another young coach in Richard Murray and talking football with him on Sunday."

Itís a big weekend for football in Dunedin.

Apart from the main game, there is also a Southern Conference ASB Youth League match on Saturday at Tahuna Park with Otago United hosting Youngheart Manawatu.

On Sunday the ASB Women's Youth League kicks into action when Football South play Central Football at 11.00am.



Head to Head

Otago United

Waitakere United


Coach Richard MURRAY drafts in Donnie MacGREGOR, Zac RATHBONE and Nick HINDSON as his side goes in search of a first win over Waitakere since 2005.

Neil EMBLEN drafts in gloveman Louie CAUNTER and New Zealand U-17 international Bill TUILOMA.


Callum FLAWS is not selected.

Andy RALPH is unavailable and Jordan VALE returns to the National Youth League squad


If Ant HANCOCK scores against Waitakere he will become just the fifth player in Otago United history to score in consecutive matches behind Blair SCOULLAR, Phil RUGGLES, Stu KELLY and Dave DUGDALE.

Roy KRISHNA scored five goals in his last outing for Waitakere United in a 10-0 rout of AS Tefana. Ryan de VRIES bagged a hat-trick in the same match.

Vital Stats:

Six years and fourteen matches have passed since Otago United last defeated Waitakere in the ASB Premiership Ėthat was a 1-0 win courtesy of a Blair SCOULLAR strike back in 2005.

Waitakere Unitedís unbeaten run over Otago United stretched to fourteen matches at the end of last season with Neil EMBLENís side notching 3-1 and 2-1 victories. Waitakere have five wins and two draws from their previous seven visits to Dunedin.


Squad List

 Otago United

ASB Premiership - Round 2
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Waitakere United 

Sunday 6 November, 2011 
Kickoff: 2pm

1- Peter EVANS (GK)

1- Danny ROBINSON (GK)

3- Tristan PRATTLEY

2- Jason ROWLEY


3- Aaron SCOTT

5- Matt JOY

4- Tim MYERS

6- Morgan DAY

7- Martin BULLOCK

8- Seamus RYDER

8- Chris BALE

9- Donnie MacGREGOR

10- Allan PEARCE


11- Ross McKENZIE

14- Sam MEPHAM


15- Darren OVERTON

15- Gagame FENI

18- Harley RODEKA

17- Jake BUTLER (c)


20- Ryan de VRIES

21- Michael CUNNINGHAM

24- Luke ADAMS

23- Joel STEVENS


24- Andrew RIDDEN

26- Bill TUILOMA

27- Tom CONNOR

28- Louie CAUNTER (GK)

28- Nick HINDSON